Tattoo Removal KL: Doctor-Led Laser Clinics in the Klang Valley

Twelve Kuala Lumpur and Selangor clinics we checked on their own websites, with the lasers they name, the doctors behind them and any prices they publish.

Last updated: October 20267 min readBy Tattoo Malaysia Editorial Team
Patient wearing protective eyewear during a laser treatment at a KL clinic offering tattoo removal
On this page
  1. How we chose these KL tattoo removal clinics
  2. Tattoo removal clinics in Kuala Lumpur and Selangor
  3. Comparing tattoo removal prices in KL
  4. Beauty centres and tattoo studios: why we leave them out
  5. Before you book tattoo removal in KL
  6. Frequently asked questions

Quick answer

For tattoo removal in KL, choose a doctor-led aesthetic clinic, not a beauty centre or tattoo studio. The Klang Valley has the widest choice in Malaysia. Published prices start from RM288 per session at CLEO Clinic, and Nexus Clinic lists RM400–RM2,500 by size. Most tattoos need 5 to 12 sessions.

Kuala Lumpur and the surrounding Klang Valley have more laser clinics than anywhere else in Malaysia. That makes tattoo removal in KL easier to find, but harder to compare. Every clinic below names its lasers or publishes its approach on its own website, and we checked each page in October 2026. We list them in no particular order, and none paid to appear.

Before you book, read our main tattoo removal guide for Malaysia. It explains how lasers work, why darker skin needs extra care and the Ministry of Health rules on who may treat you.

How we chose these KL tattoo removal clinics

Aesthetic laser machine in a treatment room of the kind used for tattoo removal in KL clinics
Every clinic on this list names its laser or its doctors on its own website.

We only list a clinic when its own website confirms that it offers tattoo removal. We also looked for a named doctor and a clear medical setting. Where a clinic states that its doctors hold a Letter of Credentialing and Privileging (LCP), we say so. Where it does not, we say that too. Directory listings alone were not enough to make this list.

Tattoo removal clinics in Kuala Lumpur and Selangor

Sliq Clinic

Area
SJ City Centre, Subang Jaya; Avantas, Old Klang Road, KL
Lasers named
Fotona StarWalker PQX (pico); Cynosure RevLite and MedLite C6 (Q-switched Nd:YAG)
Published price
RM400–RM800 per session
Doctors
Dr Steve Chia (Medical Director) and Dr Semantha Chia; site says its doctors are LCP-certified

Sliq is one of the few KL clinics that names both pico and Q-switched machines. That gives the doctor more wavelengths to work with on mixed colours. The clinic says Asian skin typically needs 8 to 10 sessions, about a month apart.

Kaiteki Aesthetic Clinic

Area
Mont Kiara, Cheras, Bukit Jalil and Four Seasons KL; Petaling Jaya and Kota Kemuning in Selangor
Lasers named
PicoSure (755nm); Fotona PQX StarWalker (1064nm and 532nm, pico and Q-switched)
Published price
Not listed; quoted after assessment
Doctors
Site says it has 21 MMC-registered, LCP-certified doctors

Kaiteki writes the most careful removal page we read. It explains that melanin competes with ink for laser energy, so it uses gentler settings and longer gaps for medium and deep skin. It also offers a free 20 to 30-minute consultation.

CLEO Clinic

Area
Sri Hartamas (HQ), Kepong and Cheras in KL; USJ 10, Subang Jaya
Lasers named
Fotona StarWalker PQX with FracTAT
Published price
From RM288 per session
Doctors
Dr Tan Choy Ling and Dr Raimie Rahmad; site says LCP-certified

CLEO publishes the lowest starting price we found in the Klang Valley. "From" prices usually apply to the smallest tattoos, so ask what your size costs. With four branches, it is also easy to reach from the north and south of the city.

Nexus Clinic

Area
Wisma UOA II, Jalan Pinang, KL city centre
Lasers named
Discovery PICO (1064nm Nd:YAG, 755nm alexandrite and 532nm)
Published price
Small (up to 5cm) RM400–RM800; medium (5–15cm) RM800–RM1,500; large (over 15cm) RM1,500–RM2,500 per session
Doctors
Homepage says doctor-led and LCP-certified

Nexus gives the clearest price table by size of any KL clinic. Its site also lists sessions by colour: 4 to 8 for professional black, 7 to 12 for green and 8 to 14 or more for yellow. That helps you budget before you visit.

Premier Clinic

Area
Bangsar, KL City, Mont Kiara and TTDI in KL; Puchong, Selangor
Lasers named
Pico laser (model not named; page also mentions PicoSure)
Published price
Around RM600 onwards per pico session
Doctors
Site says trained doctors perform all procedures; LCP not stated on the page

Premier has five branches across the city, including Bangsar and TTDI. It claims pico clears a small professional tattoo in 4 to 6 sessions, against 10 to 20 with older lasers. Treat that as a marketing claim and ask for an estimate for your own tattoo.

NextMed Clinic

Area
Bukit Gasing (PJ), Cheras, Setia Alam and Damansara Heights
Lasers named
Q-switched and pico (models not named)
Published price
Guide dated 16 Jul 2025: small RM200–RM500; medium RM500–RM1,000; large RM1,000–RM1,500+ per session
Doctors
Price guide written by Dr Alicia Liw; LCP not stated

NextMed's price guide is one of the most detailed in Malaysia, though it reads as a market overview rather than a fixed menu. Its branches suit people living in PJ and the western suburbs.

GLOJAS Specialist Clinic

Area
Desa Sri Hartamas, KL
Lasers named
Pico laser (model not named)
Published price
Blog guide: small RM250–RM400; medium RM500–RM800; large or coloured RM900+
Doctors
Homepage says its doctors are MOH-registered with LCP credentials

GLOJAS quotes 5 to 8 sessions at 6 to 8-week intervals. Its price bands put coloured work in the top tier, which matches what other clinics say about colour.

Her Clinic

Area
Jalan Yap Kwan Seng, near KLCC; Damansara Utama, Petaling Jaya
Lasers named
Pico laser (model not named)
Published price
Blog guide: RM300–RM600 per session for small tattoos; RM800–RM2,000+ for large
Doctors
Site says LCP-certified, MMC-registered doctors perform all laser work

Her Clinic says to expect 4 to 8 sessions, 6 to 8 weeks apart, with numbing cream and cooling to manage pain. It opens daily, including Sundays and public holidays, which helps if you work office hours.

KO Skin Specialist (Dr Ko Clinic)

Area
HQ in Klang; many Klang Valley branches including Ampang, Puchong and Shah Alam
Lasers named
Picosecond, Q-switched Nd:YAG, fractional CO2, Er:YAG and pulsed dye lasers
Published price
Not listed
Doctors
Group led by Dato' Dr Ko Chung Beng, consultant dermatologist

KO is a large, dermatologist-led group with a wide range of lasers. That breadth helps with tricky cases such as birthmarks or scarred tattoos. Ask which branch has the device you need, because equipment can vary between sites.

O2 Klinik

Area
15+ branches nationwide, including KL and Selangor
Lasers named
Not named on the removal page
Published price
Not listed
Doctors
Site says LCP-certified doctors perform treatment

O2 Klinik publishes the most useful session estimate by size: 3 to 5 for a tattoo smaller than a 50 sen coin, up to 12 to 15 or more for a sleeve. Because it does not name its device, ask which laser your branch uses.

Peter Ch'ng Skin Specialist

Area
Desa Parkcity; Gleneagles Hospital KL
Lasers named
Not named
Published price
Not listed
Doctors
Dr Peter Ch'ng, consultant dermatologist

A consultant dermatologist is a good choice if your skin scars easily, reacts to ink or has a condition such as eczema. Dr Ch'ng's article on removal says sessions are about a month apart.

Sheen Clinic

Area
Sunway Geo Avenue, Bandar Sunway, Subang Jaya
Lasers named
Discovery Pico
Published price
Unclear; ask for a quote
Doctors
Not confirmed on the page we checked

Sheen's site names its laser and covers partial fading before a cover-up, which suits people near Sunway. Its online price display was unclear when we checked, so confirm the per-session rate and the treating doctor before you book.

Comparing tattoo removal prices in KL

Published tattoo removal prices in KL range from RM288 per session at the low end to RM2,500 for large tattoos at Nexus. However, most clinics price by size, so compare like with like. A palm-sized black tattoo usually falls in the medium band, around RM500–RM1,500 per session. For a full breakdown with worked examples, see our tattoo removal price guide.

Local tip

Branch choice matters more than it seems. Since you will visit five to twelve times, a branch near your home or office saves real time and money over a year.

Beauty centres and tattoo studios: why we leave them out

You may see cheaper tattoo removal offers from beauty centres in KL. Under Ministry of Health rules, laser aesthetic procedures belong in healthcare facilities licensed under the Private Healthcare Facilities and Services Act 1998, done by credentialed doctors. In January 2025, the ministry said at least 17 beauty-centre owners had faced charges for offering medical aesthetic procedures without qualifications, Malaysiakini reported.

The same logic applies to tattoo studios. So even if your artist offers laser removal, book it with a clinic instead. The American Academy of Dermatology notes that side effects are more common when someone lacks medical training.

Before you book tattoo removal in KL

  1. Check the doctorAsk who will treat you and whether they hold an LCP for laser work.
  2. Ask about the laserFind out which wavelengths the branch has for your ink colours.
  3. Get a written estimateAsk for the price per session and the expected number of sessions.
  4. Plan around the sunTreated skin needs sun protection for about three months, so avoid booking before a beach holiday.

Thinking about a cover-up instead? Many KL tattooists work over faded tattoos. Browse our Kuala Lumpur tattoo shops guide and our cover-up guide to plan both steps.

Frequently asked questions

How much is tattoo removal in KL?

Published prices start from RM288 per session at CLEO Clinic. Sliq quotes RM400–RM800, and Nexus lists RM400–RM2,500 depending on size. Confirm with the clinic before booking.

Which clinics in Kuala Lumpur use PicoSure?

Kaiteki names PicoSure on its removal page, and Premier Clinic mentions it too. Other clinics name Fotona PQX or Discovery Pico.

How many sessions will I need?

Most tattoos need 5 to 12 sessions, 6 to 8 weeks apart. Small black tattoos need fewer, while colour and large pieces need more.

Can I get tattoo removal at a KL tattoo shop?

We advise against it. Under MOH rules, laser aesthetic work belongs in licensed healthcare facilities run by credentialed doctors.